My Silent Wake – Damnatio Memoriae

Posted: June 18, 2015 in death metal, doom metal, metal

It’s been ten years now since Ian Arkley breathed life into the creative entity that is My Silent Wake. Over the course of that decade members have come and gone and the band have explored a diverse palette of sounds – from doom metal to ambient and acoustic releases – but an incredible consistency of quality has always been maintained. Following on from the 2014 ambient album, Eye Of The Needle, the band are now ready to unveil a new album of darkly atmospheric, breathtakingly powerful doom metal. Damnatio Memoriae is perhaps the most spectacular release of My Silent Wake’s career, standing tall over a back catalogue already overflowing with class and majesty. Recorded at The Priory studios, under the watchful eye of Esoteric man Greg Chandler (who also adds some of his impressive vocals to the mix), Damnatio Memoriae surges with tides of emotion, envelops the listener completely in its world of shadows and melancholy. There are melodies to touch the heart, solos that sear the soul, riffs that reduce stone to dust, drums like thunder and vocals infused with passion and sorrow. My Silent Wake have achieved something majestic, something magical, something the world needs to hear.
Attrition’s Martin Bowes has added touches of synths to the songs, adding the perfect finishing touches where required and the package is completed with the haunting album artwork, created by renowned Finnish artist Juha Vuorma (Autopsy / Whiplash / Edge Of Sanity). Every detail has been addressed making Damnatio Memoriae the most complete My Silent Wake release to date and the undoubted pinnacle of their career so far.

Ian Arkley – Vocals and Guitar
Addam Westlake – Bass
Gareth Arlett – Drums
(Mike Hitchen – Live Rhythm Guitar)
Genre: Doom/Death Metal
For fans of: Paradise Lost | My Dying Bride | Indesinence
Further Information:
“…moments that are simply awesome…”
Zero Tolerance Magazine |

My Silent Wake – Damnatio Memoriae Label: House Of Ashes Release Date: 29.06.15
Track Listing:
1 – Of Fury | 2 – Highwire | 3 – Now it Destroys | 4 – Black Oil | 5 – And so it Comes to an End | 6 – The Innocent | 7 – The Empty Unknown | 8 – Chaos Enfolds Me

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s