Posted: December 22, 2011 in black metal
Tags: , ,
NECRONOMICON - Invictus Massacre Records

NECRONOMICON - Invictus Massacre Records

01. Invictus
02. Unleashed
03. Bloody bastards
04. Thoughts running free
05. Unconquered
06. Upon black wings
07. Face to the wall
08. Pandora’s box
09. Before the curtain falls
10. Possessed by evil (2011)
11. Magic Forest (live) Digipak bonus track
12. Nightstalker (live) Digipak bonus track
13. Hills of death (live) Digipak bonus track
14. On pain of death (live) Digipak bonus track

One moment that will undoubtedly go down in the annals of Thrash Metal history occurred in Germany August of 1984 when four young men, Freddy, Lars Honeck, Jürgen Weltin (Jogi) and Axel, decided to launch what was to become the countries’ cult Thrash Metal Band – NECRONOMICON. Recognising the urban character and punk roots that made the band so original, fans and media alike responded enthusiastically to the debut album “Necronomicon”, which caught the attention of the Thrash Metal scene, and garnered not only praise for the band, but also created the solid foundations of a fan base that has remained with the band throughout the years. NECRONOMICON’s second album, “Apocalyptic Nightmare” was released 1987 and interest in the band continued to grow significantly worldwide, with South America, Eastern Europe, Scandinavia, and Russia becoming strongholds. The hit singles, “Magic Forest”, “Dark Land” and “Possessed by Evil” have become Thrash Metal classics and taken on cult status. The legendary album, “Escalation”, followed, climbing to the Top 30 in the Rock Charts in Greece, but NECRONOMICON’s future was not to be plain sailing. Gama Records’ lack of support and inconsistencies caused many problems, and the band was forced to go through a long and expensive court case in order to regain ownership of its own name. On top of this, co-founders Jogi, Lala and Axel were unable to continue with the band through either health or personal reasons leaving Freddy as the only original member, and he made NECRONOMICON his life’s purpose and passion. In 1993, “Screams” was released, but NECRONOMICON was dealt yet another body blow, this time losing all their equipment when the rehearsal room burned to the ground. To make matters worse, the new label disappeared shortly after releasing the album, and the band was once again cheated.. But NECRONOMICON’s determination pushed the band forward and after the demo “Possessed Again!” came the highly acclaimed fifth album, “Construction of Evil”, in 2004. The outstanding reviews were a soothing balm on the band’s wounds as they watched it rise to Number 6 in the Spanish charts. The fans went wild and begged for more. Revenge of the Beast appeared in 2007 and for the first time in the band’s history NECRONOMICON signed with a foreign label. With good reviews and media interest, the band was lifted “out of the shadow” of the great Thrashers, making it into the top 20 of several Rock Charts and going on to capture many new hearts whilst on tour in Europe and Russia. Even the toughest critics would have to agree that a band which has a fan base that has not only remained loyal, but constantly pulls in new young fans must be endowed with a character and identity all of its own that makes it stand out from the masses. Since December 2010, Freddy had been busy writing new songs for the highly anticipated new album, “Invictus” which will be produced at the Arson Music Studio in Breisach and Berlin. Sound guru Achim Köhler will once again handle the mix and mastering. The guest musicians are none other than Randy Black (Ex Annihilator) and Ben Krahl (Final Kings). With “Invictus”, NECRONOMICON’s individuality and skill in terms of song writing goes from strength to strength, exceeding all expectations with a full sound and terrific production. The new album is generating a lot of interest, expectations are high and there is a determination to find a new and better label. Let there be no doubt in anyone’s mind – NECRONOMICON has never been stronger!

1985: Necronomicon, GAMA-Records
1987: Apocalyptic Nightmare, GAMA-Records
1988: Escalation, GAMA-Records
1994: Screams, D & S Records
2004: Construction of Evil, Remedy-Records
2008: Revenge of the Beast, Xtreem Music
2011: Limited Edition Double Vinyls, Three different collectors edition, High Roller Records
2012: Invictus

Vocals & guitars: Freddy
Guitar: Andi Gern
Bass: Andi Nagel
Drums: Klaus Enderlin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s